August 13, 2008

Enormous Lemming Fulfilled: Essie Starry Starry Nights

Posted in Blue, Essie, Glitter, Jelly tagged at 11:18 pm by pretear

So I thought we could take a break from the awesome but overwhelming 2008 fall collections and just do a simple NOTD post – something I haven’t done since the fall insanity began last month.

Essie Starry Starry Nights is one of those highly sought after polishes that has become an expensive hard-to-find. Essie did re-release it, along with Viva La Vespa, but since the retail was bumped up to $10 and the shipping was so extravagant, I’m not sure that many people took Essie up on the offer. I, for example, debated it for a while then ultimately decided against making the purchase. I’m glad because one of the amazing girls over at MUA found it for me at dusty for a great price.

Now here’s the part of the story that makes me want to kick myself: I lemminged this color for the longest time but when I finally got it, I put in my ‘untried’ box and completely forgot it even existed! D’oh. To be fair though, that only happened because I haven’t be able to wear any non-professional looking colors this whole summer. Now that I can finally wear ‘out of the ordinary’ colors again, I went hunting in my ‘untried’ box and rediscovered Starry Starry Night. “Wow” is all I can say. Dark blue jelly with small silver glitter makes for an amazing polish. I can definitely see what all the hype was about.

The jelly-ness gives the glitter at different coats varying degrees of visibility, which really makes this polish look the way the sky does in places where there are no lights to drown out the shining light of the stars. One of the girls on MUA said that my nails looked like they came straight out of the Van Gogh paining. Love the reference, and so very true.

As great as the color is, Starry Starry Nights is not without its pitfalls. A lot of people complain that Starry Starry Night is hot streaky difficult to apply mess. I didn’t have too much trouble with mine. For this manicure I used 1 coat Essie ‘First Base’ Base Coat, 3 coats of Starry Starry Night, and 1 coat of Seche Vite. The first two coats of color were semi-streaky but everything evened out perfectly with the 3rd coat. I’m not sure if the non-streakiness was due to the base coat or whether my bottle was a magical non-streaky version of Starry Starry Night.

If you love this color but don’t have access to it or don’t want to shell out the mad cash, I’ve read that Jessica Twilight is a good dupe. I can’t vouch for it myself because I, sadly, don’t own any Jessicas… yet. However, I’ve only heard good things about the brand. There are actually several known dupes of Starry Starry Night but the others are just as difficult to find as Starry Starry Night once was, so I’ll spare you the pain of lemming a hard-to-find polish with several equally hard-to-find dupes by just omitting that information from this post. <3

12 Comments »

  1. Scrangie said,

    Do you have Nubar Purple Rain? It’s like a purple multicolored glitter version of Starry Starry Night :)

  2. rocketqueen said,

    Ohh, I adore that one! Gorgeous!

  3. rocketqueen said,

    And oh, thave I said thanks for putting me on your blogroll? I’m very honoured! Thanks hun!

  4. pretear said,

    Scrangie – I actually just got that one, I think it might have been one of those much feared Scrangie-induced lemming lol, haven’t tried yet but I will soon.

    RQ – You’ve been there for a while, I love your site even though I can’t read most of it lol, so no thanks necessary. : )

  5. Sminkan said,

    Starry Starry Night looks wonderful! I might have to look for the Jessica polish now…
    Nubars Purple Rain is one of my favourites, by the way. Would love to hear what you think of it.
    And, I must say I am honoured too! I had no idea I was on your blogroll, but when I read RQ’s coment and looked for her, I found me! Wow! :D

  6. rocketqueen said,

    You can read half right? :D I have all the translations right there!

    Sminkan is on a roll right now! Can’t believe the speed of that woman!

    And I managed to put a “Rocking” thing on my site! Yay! Thanks for the inspiration!

  7. Sanna said,

    It’s so gorgeous!
    “my nails looked like they came straight out of the Van Gogh paining”
    That’s one of the most beautiful references I’ve ever heard when it comes to polish. I love that!
    Your nails look fantastic

  8. Steph said,

    *wow* – that’s all I need to say. :)

  9. pretear said,

    Sminkan – : )

    RQ – I love the “currently wearing” update you have up now. <3

    Sanna – I agree I wish I sad it myself lol and thank you.

    Steph – lol.

  10. Sarah said,

    That colour is GORGEOUS. I have easy access to Jessica polishes (and an ever increasing collection at home) – seems like they’re much more accessible in the UK than in the US – but I’ve checked and there is no colour called Twilight or sadly, any glittery blues. Midnight Moonlight is probably the closest, but it only has micro-glitter to create a metallic effect, I wouldn’t call it a glitter polish. It’s closer to OPI’s Yoga-Ta Get This Blue (almost twins, in fact).

  11. pretear said,

    Maybe it’s a U.S. only color. You have to be a member of MUA to see this link but here’s a picture of it by Cat1104: http://makeupalley.com/m_70491741

  12. [...] in Ghetto Fabulous, Glitter, Nubar, Purples & Lilacs at 10:04 pm by pretear After my Essie Starry Starry Night post many of you suggested in the comments section that I should try out Nubar Purple Rain Glitter [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

