July 20, 2008

Essie Fall 2008 Collection Swatches

Posted in Essie, Pink, Red, Vampies tagged at 8:43 pm by pretear

What is this collection named? I have no idea. It’s a very mysterious collection, but the colors are great. While other polish companies are doing grays, purples, dark colors, and metallics for fall, Essie stayed true to form and maintained their usual palette range. These colors are more classic than they are exciting but these are colors that should be standard staples in all stashes. Scrangie has reviewed these already and I agree with her insights. The reds are *hot* and I, too, love the jelly-like finish that these colors sport. I wouldn’t call them true jellies per se because the colors aren’t completely translucent, but the finishes definitely have a unique quality. I imagined that these colors would be ultra glossy, but strangely, they weren’t. I know some people like the finish to be somewhat matte but I like my nails to blind oncoming traffic, so I plan to top these with an ultra gloss top coat. Finally, these were all 2 coaters, excellent application. Well played, Essie. This collection should be out in August.

Essie – Big Spender is a sophisticated purple-y pink. It’s not a neon shade, but it reminds me a lot of the neon colors that were so popular this summer. For that reason, I think it would be good transitional color to wear from the switch between Summer to Fall. Even if you don’t have those sorts of seasonal concerns, it’s still a sexy color.

LOOOOOVE this red. Essie Forever Young, a tomato red, is gorgeous, plain and simple. I used top coat for this swatch because of the matte drying. I’ve noted where I’ve taken the images with top coat, notice the contrast?

In my swatches, Essie Lacy Not Racy looks deceptively similar to Essie Tomboy No More pictured below. Both are ridiculous sexy colors, but they’re very different. Lacy Not Racy is more of a true red, while Tomboy No More is a deeper more vampy red. This swatch was taken with top coat, if you look at the swatch of Tomboy No More in contrast to this swatch, the matte drying is really apparent.

I just can’t get enough of these reds. Essie Tomboy No More would be perfect to use for the half moon mani, well actually all three reds would be. Love it.

This color is just one huge mystery. Scrangie and I, apparently, have different colors both named No Boundaries. My bottle was a hot pink as you can see above, but hers was a vampy plum. I like my version of No Boundaries but I really like Scrangie’s, so boooooo. I’m a little confused as to what happened, I’ll let you guys know when I figure it out.

People haven’t been very excited over Essie Swept Off My Feet but it’s my absolute favorite from this collection. It’s a muted pink, Scrangie describes it as dusty – I completely agree. I love these muted dusty colors that been released as of late. There’s just something about them, to me they seem edgy but classic. I love it.

Special thanks to Essie.

13 Comments »

  1. Sminkan said,

    I ell in love with all the colors when I saw the swatches at Scrangies. Now I am sur I need them all! But I want the plum one! Pink is not my favourite color, even if I happen to like Big Spender and Swept off my feet.

  2. *jen said,

    Isn’t that WEIRD about No Boundaries!? I like that plummier version, too. Thanks for the swatches!

  3. pretear said,

    Sminkan and Jen – I know, I loved that plum. That’s what sold me on the collection to begin with. *sigh*

  4. Jessica said,

    honey have you seen chanel kaleidoscope?? I am completely intrigued…. im going to nordstrom on my lunch to get it

  5. pretear said,

    Omg, yes!!! I actually have an article about it and its dupes coming up. It’s a great color. I love it.

  6. Scrangie said,

    Whoa, crazy! My No Boundaries *is* totally different! I wonder if they decided to change the color at the last minute? Very, very strange. The bright pink version doesn’t seem like it belongs in the Fall collection along with all the vampy reds… Hmmm….. Mysterious…

  7. pretear said,

    Yea, it’s not even in the same color range. I sent Essie an email, we’ll see what they say. I hope the official color is your plum – love that one.

  8. Sanna said,

    I think I like them all!
    Your nails look awesome as always:)

  9. Jody Johnson said,

    Ooooh, I just came across your site. I just took off acrylic nails after about 7 months of wear. . . so I am growing out right now : ( I can’t wait to try some of your techniques for beautiful nails. . .yours are perfect!

  10. pretear said,

    Thank you! I had acrylics forever too. That’s actually how I got into nail polish, acrylics became too expensive so I decided to start doing my own nails. It spiraled out of control. lol.

  11. lynn murphy said,

    I am bummed. I bought some of these Essie colors through the Nordstrom anniversary sale and I a very disappointed. You talk about the jelly like formulation- actually it is very hard to apply these colors and they do not look good once on the nail. I have been an Essie lover for ages but these are very disappointing. The formulation has been changed and not for the good!

  12. pretear said,

    I’ve had a lot of trouble with some the application of some Essies but these didn’t give me any application problems at all. How are these giving you trouble (streaky, bubbly, too thick)? What are you using as a base coat? If we can’t figure out what the source of your issues are, you might want to try to contact Essie and explain to them why you don’t like this collection, I wouldn’t be surprised if they compensated you in some way. Finally, don’t worry, I think the Jelly-like formula is just for these polishes, it’s not a change in the actual formula of their nail polish.

  13. […] at 8:42 pm by pretear There’s been a lot of discussion surrounding the differences between my swatches of the Essie 2008 Collection and Scrangie’s swatches. The differences can be attributed to […]


Leave a comment